Bilingual is Better

NBA Finals

Posted by:  |  Category: Imported


The NBA Finals is the annual championship series of the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Eastern and Western conference champions play with a best-of-seven game set to determine the league champion. The champions of the Finals are given the Larry O’Brien Championship Trophy, which replaced the Walter A. Brown Trophy in 1983.
The series was initially Called the BAA Finals prior to the 1949–50 year when the Basketball Association of America (BAA) united with the National Basketball League (NBL) to form the NBA. The contest oversaw additional name changes to NBA World Championship Series from 1950 to 1985, as well as a short stint as the Showdown, before settling on NBA Finals in 1986. [1]
The NBA Finals was originally structured in a 2–2–1–1–1 structure. Back in 1985, to ease the amount of cross-country travel, it had been changed into a 2–3–2 structure, in which the first two and last two matches of the series were played at the arena of the group who earned home-court benefit by having the better record during the regular season. The 2–2–1–1–1 format has been revived. The first two matches are played the higher-seeded team’s home, the following two in the house of the lower-seeded team, and the rest three are played at each team’s home arena . [2]
A total of 19 franchises have won the NBA Finals, with the Toronto Raptors winning in 2019. The Boston Celtics hold the record for the many victories, having won the competition 17 times, in addition to the many consecutive titles, winning 8 occasions from 1959 to 1966. The Los Angeles Lakers have contested the NBA Finals the many times, with 31 appearances. The Eastern Conference has provided the many winners, with 38 wins from 10 franchises; the Western Conference has 32, from 9 franchises.

Read more:

Recent Posts